An Ode To Changing Times – “Cat Calling” a poem

Things I See

In the New York Times

April 2014

Cat Calling

fearless girl.jpg

It is time we pasted it up all over the place

I am not here for you

I am not your fantasy

I am not your property

I am not a body for you to abuse

 

It is time we posted it in the schools

Offices,

Government buildings,

Shops,

Libraries

Department Stores

And Costco

And Walmart

And well

Damnit

Everywhere

 

You with the big rude mouth,

Who taught you to call out “Your

Ass is too big for me to fuck.”

“I bet you Asian girls take it any way I give it.”

“Hey baby, I bet you like it hard and nasty.”

“She looks like a virgin but I bet she ain’t.”

 

Who raised you?   What made you the senseless,

Selfish, twisted man who

Only knows how to demean women?

 

Who didn’t love you? Who taught you that

Women were nothin’? Who taught you

That you were nothin’?

 

You can’t grab my ass in an elevator

You can’t put your arms around

Me in a smothering grip because

I’m standing next to you

“Hey baby…?” I’ll hey baby

you and say, my body is my body

it is not your property, not ever

 

Don’t call me bossy because I know my mind,

You’re decisive

Don’t call me bitch when I disagree

You’re smart

Don’t call me vain when I dress nice

You’re groomed

Too bad you don’t like me

Too bad you can’t take the time to

Know who I am, because then you’d have to know

Yourself

And that might freak you out

But I won’t give up.

 

We gotta start all over, don’t we.

We have to post it all over America,

All over South America, in Asia

In the Middle East, Eastern Europe, Australia, Russia,

Europe, Africa and the United Kingdom

 

I am a woman. I am a person just like you

I will use my paste and my

Art and my voice and

Let you know that I see you

That I know you don’t see me

I will teach you to see me

To see all women

But if I ask that of you

I must see you too

 

How do we reach out?

How do you take my hand?

How does this end?

 

Leave a comment